Pin Code

Pin code in India is known by the word (Postal Index Number). This is a code found in India Post's postal code system. This code is mainly used to segregate mail in India Post. Six long digits make up the postal index number. Shriram Bhikaji Valankar, then an additional secretary in the Union Ministry of Communications, introduced this system of postal address coding in 1972.

The primary purpose of the PIN-code system was to assist the Indian postal department in manually sorting and delivering mail to the correct address. This eliminated confusion over similar addresses, incorrect addresses, and different languages.

Pin code State List

West Bengal Sikkim Andaman Nicobar Islands
Uttarakhand Uttar Pradesh Tamil Nadu
Pondicherry Rajasthan Punjab
Chandigarh Odisha Meghalaya
Assam Tripura Arunachal Pradesh
Nagaland Mizoram Manipur
Maharashtra Goa Madhya Pradesh
Kerala Lakshadweep Karnataka
Jharkhand Jammu Kashmir Himachal Pradesh
Haryana Gujarat Dadra Nagar Haveli
Daman Diu Delhi Chattisgarh
Bihar Andhra Pradesh Telangana
First Digit PIN Code Districts
 1 Jammu & Kashmir, Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh
2 Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 Rajasthan, Gujarat, Diu and Daman, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 Maharashtra, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5 Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
6 Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Lakshadweep, Puducherry
7 Odisha, West Bengal, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Assam, Sikkim, Andaman & Nicobar Islands
8 Bihar, Jharkhand,
9 Army Post Office (APO), Field Post Office (FPO)

India Post has more than 1,55,000 branches located in various parts of the country. It covers 89% of the country's rural areas. The Department of Post serves a prominent role in rural areas. They act as a link between villages and towns and serve as a connector between them. They provide services such as mail and banking to rural areas, which are often still without a bank.

The country's modern postal service is approximately 150 years old. In 1854, India was the first country to issue stamps. After some time, the postal services were transferred to centralized control.

The British expanded the scope of postal services in India after independence. They increased the level of investment and effort to improve the current service.

The India Post currently offers services to the desert region of Kutch, Rajasthan and the Siachen glaciers. Below is a list of services offered by India Post Financial Services Allied Postal Services Mail Facilities Financial Services. The India Post provides a host of financial services to the public, including National Savings Certificates (NSC), Kisan Vikas Patras (KSV), Public Provident Funds (PPF), and many others.

The postal service allows citizens to access the traditional schemes offered by a bank in India. It accepts deposits and provides customer's schemes that are linked to their monthly income. This is the best part. The rates of interest offered at Indian post offices are significantly higher than those offered by banks in the country, whether they be public or private.

Recently, Indian post offices have started offering Sukhanya Sammriddhi schemes (SSS/SSC) to help the girl child in India with her education and to cover her wedding expenses once she turns 21.